Pin Me

New Player Guide to World Of Warcraft - Starting areas and NPC's

by: MD Weems ; edited by: Michael Hartman ; updated: 4/18/2012 • Leave a comment

When it comes to starting areas in World of Warcraft and the NPC's that you need to learn to interact with, it can sometimes be a bit of a challenge to see which way to go. So, here is your Ultimate World of Warcraft Noob Guide area to help you through.

  • slide 1 of 3

    Alliance Starting Areas in World of Warcraft

    No matter which race you choose, you will be placed in one of the different starting areas to learn your way through levels 1-10 (approximately). These starting areas are designed so that you can learn how to play your toon, how to use the interface in the game, and how to kill mobs before you hit the areas where they automatically attack you without warning if you get to close.

    You should take advantage of these starting areas as much as you can since they are designed to help you level fast so that you can be familiar with your toon before you head out into the wider world. So, let's go over a bit about the different starting areas in the game.

    Here is the list of the World of Warcraft starting areas for the Alliance:

    • Human: Northshire Valley in Elwynn Forest in the Eastern Kingdoms
    • Night Elf: Shadowgen in Teldrassil in Kalimdor
    • Draenei: Ammen Vale on Azuremyst Isle in Kalimdor
    • Dwarf and Gnome: Coldridge Valley in Dun Morogh in the Eastern Kingdoms (These two races start at the same area of the game)

  • slide 2 of 3

    Horde Starting Areas in World Of Warcraft

    Here is the list of the World of Warcraft starting areas for the Horde:

    • Undead (Forsaken): Deathknell in Tirisfal Glades in the Eastern Kingdoms
    • Blood Elf: Eversong Woods on Quel'Thalas in the Eastern Kingdoms
    • Tauren: Camp Narache in Mulgore in Kalimdor
    • Orc and Troll: Valley of Trials in Durotar in Kalimdor (These two races start at the same area of the game)

    In each of these starting areas, there are easy quests that will have you go out and kill several mobs for items and loot. This is a great place to try out skills, weapons, and learn what you can, and can't, do with your toon. Now, let's talk a bit about the NPC's that you will have to interact with throughout the game.

  • slide 3 of 3

    NPC's in World of Warcraft

    In every area of the game, you will come across NPC's (or non-player characters). These are the in-game toons that will give you quests, offer you training, or allow you to buy or sell loot and these are also the mobs that you will have to kill to get through the game. Here is a breakdown of the different types of NPC's that you will see in the game and how to identify them:

    Green named NPC's are friendly to you and will offer you quests, training, or something else and will not attack you.

    Yellow named NPC's are neutral to you and will either offer you quests, training, or a place to buy or sell items or they might be a part of a quest that you are on. Normally, they will not attack you unless you attack them first.

    Red named NPC's are hostile to you and will attack you if you aggro them.

    In the starting areas of the game, most of the NPC's that you come across will be friendly and you will gain something from them. The first mobs that you find will normally be neutral (yellow named) and will not attack you unless you attack them first. After you exit the starting area that you are in, you will find both neutral and hostile mobs so you need to be on your toes.

    In the next part of this World of Warcraft new player guide, we'll go through some of the basics of leveling, getting experience, and training in the starting areas of the game.

privacy policy